The 3 Ayurvedic Doshas and Their Impact on Your Life

Updated: Jul 6

Ayurveda, the science of health, describes the world as being made up of 5 elements, Aakash (space), Jala (water), Prithvi (earth), Teja (fire), and Vayu (air). These five elements come together to form 3 distinct humors in people called Doshas: Vata, Pitta, and Kapha. These Doshas, in turn, determine people’s personalities and body types. Dosha is a Sanskrit term that can literally be translated to mean “that which can cause problems,” "that which accelerates aging," because when your Dosha is out of balance, it can lead to health issues and even disease. Ayurveda teaches us that the Dosha is responsible for your physiological, mental, and emotional health.

Saumya Ayurveda's logo illustrates the elements of fire, water, air, ether and earth.

The Three Dosha Types in Ayurveda

Vata Dosha – Air + Space

Vata types tend to be thin and lanky. They are mentally and physically active and have active imaginations. Vatas are creative people who often think outside the box. They tend to be easily distracted and have moods that are influenced by the weather, the people around them, and the foods they eat.

Vatas do best when they follow a consistent daily routine that allows them to manage their stress through mediation, pranayama breathing, or calm activities. Vata types or those with Vata conditions frequently get cold hands and feet and can benefit from maintaining a warm body temperature.

Kapha Dosha – Water + Earth

Kapha types are strong, thick bones people with slow metabolisms. They are innately stable, compassionate and loyal, and often act as a support system for others. Kaphas rarely get upset and tend to think before they act.

Because of their slow metabolism and tendency to gain weight, Kaphas do best when they focus on regular exercise, maintain a healthy diet, and keep to a regular sleep routine.

Pitta Dosha – Fire + Water

Pitta types are strong-willed individuals who are highly motivated, competitive, and goal-oriented. Pittas can be intense and aggressive in their drive to attain their goals, but their drive makes them natural leaders. When a Pitta is out of balance, they can easily get irritated and frustrated.

Pittas do best when they focus on work/life balance and keep their body heat low.

Which is my Dosha?

All three Doshas are present in everyone, but one is generally the dominant Dosha. Your particular ratio of the three determines your Ayurvedic constitution. Identifying your Dosha and embracing a Dosha-specific lifestyle can lead to feeling balanced and can help you feel your best.

Having an imbalanced Dosha can lead to poor health and disease. When we feel out of sorts, it usually means that our Dosha needs to be balanced. Choosing the best food and activity for your particular Dosha type will allow you to feel your best.

Contact us today to explore which Dosha best represents you and to see what lifestyle changes you can make to achieve optimal health.

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All